oklahomaasebo.blogg.se

Does the u he diva demo have all sounds
Does the u he diva demo have all sounds





  1. #Does the u he diva demo have all sounds how to
  2. #Does the u he diva demo have all sounds professional

When I did listen to jazz singers, it was well into my career. So that's what happened in that recording. I depend on that spontaneity in order to do something different. And in the beginning of your rendition of "I Thought About You," you have that long high note like a train siren.ĭB: Sometimes I really just try to push the boundaries. I listen to instrumentalists more, which, in a way, is a product of being in Kansas City.ĪAJ: That instrumental exposure may also account for how well you do scat. So that was my beginning, and up until this day, I'm not one who listens to a lot of singers. If someone sang, it would be like James Moody or King Pleasure, or real bebop singers who were actually emulating musicians. Johnson and Charlie Parker, you name it, my dad had every record. And, of course, I listened to all that music without knowing what I was absorbing people—like J.J. Every Saturday, he would listen to his bebop records in the basement. My career has spanned many years, and I've played with many great musicians.ĪAJ: Which of them did you hear when you were a youth?ĭB: That's interesting, because singing is not where I came from initially Actually, I really didn't like jazz at first, because it took my dad away from us.

#Does the u he diva demo have all sounds professional

I've been singing since around 1971, where I had my first professional job in Kansas City (KC) at the Hilton Hotel downtown.

#Does the u he diva demo have all sounds how to

I learned how to sing jazz and bebop with the musicians and singers that were around when Charlie Parker played. I learned how to sing blues with the real blues artists there. Kansas City is where we got our style, our beat. Even today, we have over 30 clubs locally. When I grew up there, there was—and still is—more jazz than any place I've ever lived, and I've lived in a lot of cities. He has been in the jazz business for many decades and interjected remarks that imparted some additional information and wisdom to the discussion.ĭB: Well, I was born and raised in Kansas City, the home of people like Charlie Parker, Jay McShann, and Bobby Watson. The very fact that these outstanding instrumentalists chose to work with her further confirms the assessment of her exceptional status as a jazz singer.īrown's husband and long-time manager, Michael Hansen, was in the room at the time and agreed to participate in order to spice it up with a spouse's perspective. Other artists with whom Brown has appeared include Benny Bailey, Kenny Drew, Harry "Sweets" Edison, Johnny Griffin, Roy Hargrove, Ernst Reijseger, Bobby Shew, and Toots Thielemans. Her quartet Jazz 4 Jazz featured Horace Parlan, Red Mitchell (or alternatively bassist Hein van de Geijn and Ed Thigpen). Brown has also worked in a musical-literary setting, recording A Lover's Question with the noted African American author James Baldwin. Her skill and versatility is demonstrated by her work, often on record, with large studio orchestras including the Netherlands' Metropole Orchestra, and in the intimate setting of duos—among the latter being sessions with pianists Dorothy Donegan, Roger Kellaway and Cedar Walton, as well as trombonist Slide Hampton.Īmong other artists with whom she has recorded are Clark Terry, Jan Lundgren, and the Doky Brothers, appearing on their self-titled 1996 album for Blue Note Records. While less well known in the U.S., she has acquired an "insiders" reputation as one of the best in the business. Perhaps the reason for her "missing in action" status is that, while born and raised in Kansas City, Missouri., where she currently resides, Brown relocated to Europe for a considerable time, where she was a teacher and mentor, while traveling worldwide on concert tours. Vocalist JD Walter mentioned her as an inspirational teacher and mentor in a recent AAJ interview but, despite being very possibly one of the greatest jazz singers of all time, due to her own travel preferences she is less well known in the U.S. Deborah Brown is one of the finest jazz vocalists in the business, a "singer's singer" with a magnificent voice and mind-boggling technique.







Does the u he diva demo have all sounds